BC2014 Alice in Wonderland – Brown

This beautiful chess set is based on characters by Lewis Carroll in his two famous stories “Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland” and “Through the Looking Glass”. The skilled artists of Berkeley Chess have brought Carroll’s memorable characters to life.

Lewis Carroll, the pen name of Charles Lutwidge Dodgson, was a lecturer in mathematics at Christ Church, Oxford, when he wrote the stories to amuse and entertain the young children of the Dean of Christ Church.  He chose as the heroine of his stories Alice Liddell, the eldest daughter of the Dean.  The children were so entranced by the stories that their mother persuaded Dodgson to have them published.

Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland” appeared in 1865 and “Through the Looking Glass” in 1872.  Both books were superbly illustrated by John Tenniel and it is on his drawings that these chess figures are based.  Indeed “Through the Looking Glass” has as part of its basic structural theme a game of chess in which Alice, as the White Queen’s pawn, advances to the eighth square where she herself becomes a Queen.

The main characters from Lewis Carroll’s wonderful and imaginative tale are brought to life by the creative artists of Berkeley Chess as follows:

The King:         The White King

The Queen:      Alice

The Bishop:     The Mad Hatter

The Knight:     The White Knight

The Rook:        Tweedle Dum and Tweedle Dee

The Pawn   :     White Rabbit

Metrics: BC2014 Alice – Brown. King Height 3.5″ (8.8cm). King Dia 1.3″ (3.5cm). King Weight 70g (2.5oz)

Download High-Resolution Images of this model